1. Home
  2. Knowledge Base
  3. Help
  4. Duplicating Your Course Stack and Offering Your Course in Other Languages
  1. Home
  2. Knowledge Base
  3. Step-by-Step Builder Guide
  4. Duplicating Your Course Stack and Offering Your Course in Other Languages

Duplicating Your Course Stack and Offering Your Course in Other Languages

In this article, you’ll learn how to:


What is a Course Stack?

A clip of the Courses page. We click the language dropdown and scroll through the languages in our course stack.

A Course Stack is a stack of language versions for your course. When a Course is made, a tile for it appears on the Courses Page of the Builder. Any additional language versions created for the course will be stacked behind the initial course.


Add a New Language to Your Course Stack

When creating a course and assigning a language to it, a version of the course is created for that language. A language flag is added to the Course tile and a suffix corresponding with the selected language is added to the URL (for instance, United States, English would get en-US added to the end of the URL).

There are two ways to add a new language:

  • +New Langauge button on Course tile – This method creates a new version for your course with the new language flag, a suffix added to the URL for the new language. The course title and description copy over – not any media, tags, cards, or settings.
  • Duplicate As… – This method allows you to select a language and creates a new version for your course, adding a language flag and language suffix to the URL for the new language. Everything from the initial course copies to the new version, including cards, media, and settings.

Create a new Language Version using the +New Language Button:

  1. From the Courses an image of three stacked papers representing courses. page (located in the sidebar), hover the cursor on the course tile you wish to add a new language until it darkens.
  2. Click + New Language.

    An image of the courses page. The new language button is highlighted as well as a small country flag on a course where the language has been added.
  3. In the window that opens, select the language to assign to the course from the dropdown and edit the text responses into the new language.

    An image of the New Language settings page. The Language dropdown is highlighted as well as the title and description because these fields need to be translated to the new language selected.
  4. Click Submit.
  5. Repeat steps 1-4 to continue adding more language versions.
  6. Create your course for each language, remembering to click Save with each change.
  7. Click Publish.

Create a new Language Version using Duplicate As…

Duplicate As… is another way to create a new version of your course and assign a language. Duplicate As… clones the entire course, including the cards and media simplifying the process of creating a new language version. Users only need to swap any text (Course title, description, tags, Card text, and narration) for the translated text.

  1. Enter the course you wish to translate (from the Courses page an image of three stacked papers representing courses., hover your cursor on a course and click Edit Course).
  2. In the header, click the and select Duplicate As…
  3. Select your new language for the new course and click Submit. The entire course copies over and has been assigned the new language.

    An image of the Duplicate As feature where you can select what language the new copy of the course is assigned.
  4. Edit course title, description, and tags as well as each card and any narration by swapping the existing text with text translated in the new language.
  5. Remember to click Save after all changes and Publish once the course is complete.

Duplicate All Versions in the Course Stack

Duplicate All is a global operation, meaning it affects the entire stack of courses, literally making a copy of all language versions in a course stack. This feature is accessed from the Courses page, by hovering your cursor on a course tile until it darkens and tools are presented. Then click and select Duplicate All from the menu.

An image of the Courses page. The cursor is hovered over a course, which darkens it and presents tools. The ... menu has been clicked and displays its options which include copy link, export, duplicate as, and delete all.

This differs from the Duplicate As… option found in a course, which only duplicates the current version of the course, not the entire course stack.

An image of a Lifeology course. You can see the course cards on the main screen. The ... menu is open and displays the options which include: preview, copy link, export, duplicate as, and delete.

Delete All Versions in the Course Stack

Delete All is a global operation, meaning it deletes the entire course stack of all language versions for that course. This feature is accessed from the Courses page, by hovering your cursor on a course tile until it darkens and tools are presented. Then click and select Delete All from the menu.


An image of the courses page. The cursor hovers over a course. The course tile darkens and it appears the ... icon was clicked. Four options open in a popup window: copy link, export, duplicate all, and delete all.

Note: Copy Link and Export (downloads a zip folder of the media and course template) on the course tile tools (shown above) only apply to the language version selected, not the whole course stack.

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Need Support?

Can't find the answer you're looking for?
Contact Support